Patterson Receives Distinguished Graduate Recognition from Texas A&M University

Larry Patterson Receiving Distinguished Alumni Award
Texas A&M University recently selected Upper Trinity Regional Water District’s Executive Director Larry N. Patterson for recognition as a Distinguished Graduate of the Zachry Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering. First presented in 2000, this award recognizes outstanding former students who have excelled in the profession of civil or environmental engineering and promotes closer association between current engineering students and outstanding engineering professionals.
After graduation, Mr. Patterson began his life-long public service career with the City of Dallas Water Utilities. Working in various capacities throughout his 30 years with Dallas, he retired from in 2002 as the Assistant Director of Wastewater Operations. Mr. Patterson served in the 49th Armored Division, 111th Engineers Texas Army National Guard and was deployed during Operation Joint Forge (Bosnia) serving as Chief Engineer for Multinational Division (North). He has received several military honors during his 30-years of service and retired at the rank of Brigadier General. Immediately upon his retirement from Dallas Water, he joined Upper Trinity Regional Water District and immediately initiated work to secure the state and federal permit needed for Lake Ralph Hall.
“Larry is a strong supporter of Texas A&M and his communities. He has served with the Denton County A&M Club for many years and has been actively involved in the scholarship program for future students,” stated Robert Pence, P.E., a classmate of Mr. Patterson and Chairman of the Board of Freese & Nichols, Inc.
Jody Zabolio, Upper Trinity’s Director of Operations & Water Resources, added, “Larry has been a long standing and active member of numerous professional organizations. He has supported his colleagues and employee’s involvement, encouraging many to achieve high levels of leadership within these organizations.”
Mr. Patterson is also the recipient of the Water Environment Association of Texas Lifetime Achievement Award and the Earnest T. Gloyna Pillers of the Profession Award.

Social Feed